top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Overcoming Injury

May 10 I checked in with unit 27, Day Surgery at Sturgeon Community Hospital and underwent an umbilical hernia repair. The injury was the result from a combination of diastasis recti from my last pregnancy and poor post-partum rehabilitation. Aside from the digestion complications, the resulting "pooch", and unexplained bloat; my belly button was less than aesthetically pleasing. Over two years post-partum and I finally went under the knife to correct this injury. I'm not new to surgery: I had an ACL repair (boxing injury) in 2009; and, a talial repair (climbing injury) in 2010. I've broken bones, sprained joints; I feel like a veteran when it comes to athletic boo-boos. What I'm not comfortable with is healing. Go figure!

I'm a busy person. I learned a long time ago that I perform best when I am under pressure and have little time to complete a task. I like to think this is an asset in my everyday life; but when it comes time to slow down, I fail miserably. I don't enjoy napping. I don't enjoy sitting still. I don't, generally, enjoy watching television. I like to keep busy. So when I am told to sit still, don't get up, and don't lift anything above 10 lbs (including my own children) my heart sinks, a little. Throw in the drop in endorphins, and I am one cranky woman.

My hernia repair was laproscopic: one small incision in the belly button to get in and sew up the tear in my muscles. The pain is a lot different than with my other major injuries: I can still walk, but little tasks like rolling over, sitting up, or flushing the toilet cause pain. I can't twist. I can't really stand straight without feeling my stitches tug. Laughing hurts. I'm terrified to pass gas (which they tell you to do, to get rid of the air they pump into your abdomen for surgery.) I have pressure in my chest from the air in my stomach. I'm so puffy, I look pregnant. The tape they placed over my belly button pulls on my stitches. I can't reach my legs to shave. The pills they gave me take the edge off, but the least they could have done was give me a good buzz. It's day four and I'm itching to get back to my norm.

I am told it will be 6-8 weeks recovery. More likely 8 weeks because I like to lift heavy. I'm starting down a long road to recovery. Damage to the core causes a lot more complications than a broken limb. We use our core for, just about, everything! That includes bending down, standing up, lifting our children, and standing on one foot! I'm already building my plan for rehabilitation, knowing it will take my a long time. What bothers me is knowing this injury was preventable. Unfortunately, I didn't have the resources or knowledge to properly address the issue when I had the chance.

Post-partum recovery is so very important, yet seldom discussed. There are countless resources for prenatal health: workouts, nutrition, birthing classes! So much energy is put towards preparing the pregnant mother for a healthy delivery. This is wonderful, don't get me wrong, but I believe there should be equal energy and effort involved in the post-partum recovery. And, for the love of God, can someone make a PSA about crunches being the WORST possible approach to getting your abs back!

It takes 10 months for your body to grow a baby. 10 months of those abdominal muscles being stretched and pulled in all directions to cradle your little miracle. Those same muscles are what help you push your little one into the world. They have experienced more abuse than you could imagine. Don't you think they deserve some attention and rehab? There are some amazing local trainers and programs that focus on rebuilding your core, properly. All you need to do is a little research. Here are a few companies that I suggest in the YEG area:

Yoga Life

There are countless resources for the new mom, they just isn't enough emphasis on using them for postpartum health. All I wish is that I had taken the time to slow down, enjoy my baby, and focus on proper recovery; rather than jump into a rigorous and damaging fitness routine that, ultimately, did more damage. Despite my reluctance to slow down and relax: this time, I will. This means that I can't lift the milk jug to poor my kids a glass. This, also, means that I may have to leave the cleaning to my husband (yay!) And, when I finally get the "go ahead" I'm going to learn to slow things down, and recover properly. Give my body a break. After all it's the only one I have. And, hopefully, I can change one new mom's mind about those crunches she is dying to perform. Take the time and learn from me.


RSS Feed
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page