top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Farewell 2015! Hello 2016!

And so, we come to a close on the 2015 year. Tonight, many of your will be dancing with friends, sipping on something sparkley, boozey, or yummy (or all of above.) Groups will gather around to begin the final countdown. Depending on how many drinks have been poured, this countdown may occur several times until all are assured that midnight has passed, and it is, indeed, 2016. Kisses will be had and cheers will be made at the stroke of midnight. Despite this great fanfare, I can't honestly admit that I enjoy New Year's Eve. I feel it is almost anti-climatic spending the last few days of the year looking forward to the final stroke of midnight of it's last evening. Perhaps this makes me a big party pooper; however, let me explain:

Every January 1 I sit down and write out my plans for the next 365 days. This includes all the logical wants and needs that pertain to my family and our financial/physical well-being, and all the wild and crazy dreams we would like to accomplish, as well. This, not only, helps us create a plan to accomplish these dreams; but, is an opportunity for us to voice the activities and goals we may need help in

achieving. It's our way to connect with, and include each other. Because of this ritual, I don't look forward to the stroke of midnight on December 31, as I feel that all the accomplishments I have made in the previous year deserve more than a cheap firework show and a midnight kiss (although, I love that my year does start with a good smooch.)

This past fall, you may remember, I wrote out a Fall Fitness Bucketlist. It included 10 various alternative forms of fitness in, and around, the Edmonton area. Ranging from archery, to pole dancing, to surf fitness, to circus school; I had a plan to accomplish ALL of them before the end of 2015. If you have been following my here, and on Instagram, you may have seen me do many of these activities over the last four months. And although I did accomplish many of them,

I did not complete the list. Why? Because, life. Maybe that seems flaky, but it is a reality when you are juggling more than work and a relationship. Besides, completing the list was only a small part of it's purpose; and, what it truly accomplished was creating a new spark in the relationships in my life.

Being active and healthy is a very important aspect of my life. I don't sit still well. Hell, over the few days of the Christmas holiday I crocheted a large blanket for watching movies! I spend a lot of energy finding new ways to get my kids outside, to keep my husband and I moving, and build friendships (new and old) with the amazing people in my life. This fitness bucket list did all those things. My family found new ways to have fun together and explore our city, while friends joined us on new adventures that led to some amazing stories! The list inspired friends to get more active! It connected me with some truly inspiring women in the Edmonton fitness industry! And, it has inspired me to reach for greater goals in the coming year!

I have spent so much of the last six months soul searching and discovering myself. This past year has helped build me up for this new chapter, that I feel it deserves so much more than the simple, year-closing "bang!" What 2015 truly deserves is an honest, deeply felt "Thank you!" I entered this year, claiming it as my year" my year to compete; my year to graduate; my year to pursue "my dreams." Instead, it was the year that set me up for the next stage in my life, and prepared me to become the person I want to be. And that person, is so excited to begin 2016 with a new list of goals, and a much longer 2016 Bucket List than I ever thought of.

If you're looking for inspiration to begin your 2016 year, consider writing your own annual

bucket list. Write it with those around you, and with the intentions of achieving them together. After all, what is the point of reaching your goals if you don't have anyone to celebrate it with :) My only advice is to go for what you want, and give it your all. If that means to join a gym, make a realistic goal, find some friends, and go for it. If that means you want to get a promotion, then find out what it's going to take and make those necessary steps. You are the only person responsible for your outcome, so whatever your resolution: make it count. If you're stumped and in the Edmonton area, then just keep checking back here for ideas. With that,

I want to wish everyone of you that has joined me this past year -the year that I began this journey with Muscle Mommas and my own self discovery- the happiest of New Year's. May you spend the last moments in this year surrounded by those you love. See you in 2016!


RSS Feed
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page